About Mathew Carter

Matthew Carter

Readers of current periodicals, typographers, and users of computer design and word processing programs have all come into contact at one time or another with the work of Matthew Carter. He has created many well-known typefaces in frequent use today. Carter shares his expertise with the University as a Senior Critic on the Graphic Design faculty, Yale School of Art, where he has served for more than thirty years.

Matthew Carter is a type designer with more than forty years’ experience of typographic technologies ranging from handcut punches to computer fonts. After a long association with the Linotype companies he was a co-founder in 1981 of Bitstream Inc., the digital type foundry, where he worked for ten years. He is now a principal of Carter & Cone Type Inc., in Cambridge, Massachusetts, designers and producers of original typefaces.

His type designs include ITC Galliard, Snell Roundhand and Shelley scripts, Helvetica Compressed, Olympian (for newspaper text), Bell Centennial (for the U.S. telephone directories), ITC Charter, and faces for Greek, Hebrew, Cyrillic, and Devanagari, an alphabet used in India. For Carter & Cone he has designed Mantinia, Sophia, Elephant, Big Caslon, Alisal, and Miller.

Carter & Cone have produced types on commission for Apple, Microsoft (the screen fonts Verdana and Georgia), Time, Newsweek, Wired, U.S. News & World Report, Sports Illustrated, The Washington Post, The Boston Globe, The Philadelphia Inquirer, The New York Times, BusinessWeek, and the Walker Art Center.

Carter speaks frequently at conferences, colleges, and chapters of the American Institute of Graphic Arts.

Carter is a Royal Designer for Industry, a member of AGI, and chairman of the type designers’ committee of ATypI. He has received the Frederic W. Goudy Award for outstanding contribution to the printing industry, the Middleton Award from the American Center for Design, a Chrysler Award for Innovation in Design, the AIGA medal, and the Type Directors Club medal. He holds the honorary degree of Doctor of Fine Arts from the Minneapolis College of Art and Design. In 2010 he was named a MacArthur Fellow by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.